Division of Graduate Studies Announces 2021-2022 Raymund Fellows

2021-2022 Raymund Fellows

The Division of Graduate Studies is proud to announce the 2021-2022 recipients of the prestigious Raymund Fellowship.

Fellowships were awarded to seven doctoral student scholars hailing from four different countries, including: South Korea, India, United States, and Mexico. Students were nominated by their affiliated doctoral programs and then selected by a committee of University of Oregon faculty and the Vice Provost for the Division of Graduate Studies. This fellowship recognizes student scholars for their outstanding academic achievements and future potential while also choosing scholars who bring to the UO diverse educational, geographic, racial, ethnic, and other backgrounds and experiences.

The 2021-2022 Raymund Fellowship Recipients and their advisors are:

  • Audrey Fayad, Department of Philosophy; Advisor: Scott Pratt
  • Hakyung Sung, Department  of Linguistics; Advisor: Kris Kyle
  • Elizabeth Bates, Prevention Science Program; Advisor: Leslie Leve
  • Anthony Dario, Department of Computer and Information Science; Advisor: Allen Malony
  • Salma Valadez-Marquez, Department of Romance Languages; Advisor: Amalia Gladhart
  • María Delfín Ares de Parga, Department  of Mathematics; Advisor: Nick Proudfoot
  • Purushothaman Padmanabhan, Lundquist College of Business; Advisor: Chris Liu

This award would not be possible without the generous donation of University of Oregon alumnus, Steve Raymund. Mr. Raymund graduated from University of Oregon in 1978 with an economics degree and went on to found Tech Data, a multinational IT company and distributor of high-tech products based in Florida. Thanks to Mr. Raymund’s generosity, the Division of Graduate Studies has awarded scholarships to forty-five outstanding doctoral students since 2017.

To learn more about the 2021-2022 Raymund Fellows and their achievements, click here.